The Art of War Modification Website
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Amateur Radio (also called ham radio)

2 posters

Go down

Amateur Radio (also called ham radio) Empty Amateur Radio (also called ham radio)

Post  Tusker2Zero Mon Dec 15, 2008 2:11 am

Amateur Radio (also called ham radio):

What ham radio?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zULytRI2Kt0

I've been a ham radio operator for about 16 years now. I'm not very active anymore (but then again you don't really need to be to enjoy this hobby), but I'm still licensed. It's a fun hobby to be in if you're into talking to various folks from around the coutry and around the world. Or, like to help people out in an emergency. Many ham radio operators have assisted government and non-government agencies during times of crisis when normal communications have failed or become overloaded.

A perfect example of that would be hurricane Katrina:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvvvYdILHqM

Another good example of amateur radio operators assisting agencies is Skywarn Storm Spotters:

'SKYWARN is a national network of volunteer severe weather spotters. There are
currently over 230,000 trained SKYWARN spotters in the U.S. These dedicated
citizens come from all walks of life and help keep their local communities safe by
conveying severe weather reports to NOAA’s National Weather Service (NWS).
They are trained by local NWS meteorologists on how to safely observe severe
thunderstorms, tornadoes, hail, flooding, heavy snow, and ice accumulation. Where
appropriate, training is received on other hazardous phenomena such as volcanic
ashfall, waterspouts, rip currents, mudslides, and even earthquakes. ...'

Skywarn PDF
http://www.emergency-radio.org/Skywarn.pdf

--------------------------------------------------------------

More ham radio info:
http://www.hello-radio.org/hello/whatis.html
http://emergency-radio.org/communicate.html